Sign In   |   Join
NAIBA Legacy Award
Share |

 Legacy Award

Laurie Halse Anderson is a New York Times bestselling author known for tackling tough subjects with humor and sensitivity. Her work has earned numerous ALA and state awards. Two of her books, Chains and Speak, were National Book Award finalists. Chains also received the 2009 Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, and Laurie was chosen for the 2009 Margaret A. Edwards Award. Mother of four and wife of one, Laurie lives in Pennsylvania, where she likes to watch the snow fall as she writes. You can follow her adventures on Twitter @HalseAnderson, or visit her at



Join NAIBA in celebrating the career of bestselling author, Laurie Halse Anderson, the 2018 Legacy Award recipient. Ms. Anderson will appear at the NAIBA Fall Conference Awards Banquet on Sunday, October 7 to receive her award. 

In 2004, the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association established a Legacy Award in recognition of those individuals whose body of work contributed significantly to the realm of American arts and letters. Candidates for this award were to either reside in the region served by the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association, or who created work that reflected the character of the geographical area so represented, and the spirit of the independent bookselling community found therein.

Previous winners of the Legacy Award


  Richard Ford



Richard Russo

Jules Feiffer


Taylor Branch

Judy Blume




Carl Lennertz



John Sargent
Carla Cohen and Barbara Meade of Politics and Prose
Paul Auster

Morgan Entrekin
Joyce Carol Oates
Louis Auchincloss




Pete Hamill


Anne Tyler